Our Team

Tony and the Tavern

Ian Gallanar

Ian Gallanar, Founding Artistic Director of the Chesapeake Shakespeare CompanyIan Gallanar is the Founder and Artistic Director of the Chesapeake Shakespeare Company in Baltimore, Maryland and is the President of the Shakespeare Theatre Association, the international organization for professional Shakespeare theaters.

Ian founded the Chesapeake Shakespeare Company in 2002, directed its first production Twelfth Night, and has directed over 40 productions for the company over its 18 year history including Hamlet, King Lear, Romeo and Juliet, Othello, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Richard III, Cyrano de Bergerac, Our Town, Alice in Wonderland among many others. His original adaptation of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol has run six consecutive years at the Chesapeake Shakespeare Company and is one of Baltimore’s best-selling resident productions of the last 20 years.
Since 1980, Ian has worked in professional theaters across the United States as an Actor, Playwright and Director. He has served as Artistic Director for the Repertory Theatre of America, National Theatre for Children, Minnesota Shakespeare in the Park and the Small Change Original Theater.
He wrote and created the national live theater tours of Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego? and Newton’s Apple amongst many others. Ian’s scripts have been seen by more than a million people across the country.

Ian is a Distinguished Alumni of the Indiana University of Pennsylvania, a Telly Award Winner, a Howie Award Winner – Howard County, Maryland’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding Artist and a Helen Hayes Tribute Award winner. In 2015, he was invited to become a member of the prestigious National Theatre Conference. Ian is also a member of the Dramatists Guild and is the host of CSC’s podcast Planet Shakespeare, a series of interviews and conversations with Shakespeare practitioners from around the globe.

Lesley Malin

Lesley Malin, Managing Director of the Chesapeake Shakespeare CompanyLesley Malin is a founder of The Chesapeake Shakespeare Company and has served as its Managing Director since 2003, supervising its growth into one of the largest theatres in Maryland and the fifteenth largest Shakespeare theater in the U.S., all without ever taking a single accounting or management class.

She managed CSC’s 2012-2014 building renovation of an 1886 bank into its award-winning modern Shakespeare playhouse as well as the associated $6.7 million capital campaign. She also oversaw the 2017 expansion of the CSC campus to the neighboring building, creating the educational space, The CSC Studio. A pedestrian bridge between the two buildings was built and opened in 2019.

She produced CSC’s productions of Measure for Measure (2020), The Winter’s Tale (2018), Anne of the Thousand Days (2016), Pride and Prejudice (2012), The Country Wife (2009), and Dog in the Manger (2007). Her acting credits at CSC include Lady Macbeth, Paulina in The Winter’s Tale, Lady Bracknell, Mrs. Fezziwig, Beatrice in Much Ado About Nothing Mrs. Bennet in Pride and Prejudice, Anne Frank’s mother, the Queens in Richard III and Cymbeline, Titania, and Mrs. Hardcastle in She Stoops To Conquer; previously, she performed in New York.

She has, for twenty years, been the vice president of the board of trustees of The Lark, a new play development center in New York City, where she previously served as Managing Director. She served on the Executive Committee of the international Shakespeare Theatre Association for five years and organized its 2017 conference that was held in Baltimore.

She is a graduate of Washington University in St. Louis, NYU’s Arts Management program, The LEADERship Baltimore (2018), and Leadership Howard County (2009).


Ian Gallanar

Lesley Malin

Jane Coffey

Michael Lonegro

Kristina Lambdin

Brandon W Vernon

Daniel O’Brien

Ron Heneghan

Gerrad Alex Taylor

Associate Artistic Directors

Scott Alan Small
Gerrad Alex Taylor

Resident Artists

Isabelle Anderson, Distinguished Artist in Residence
Kevin Costa, Educator in Residence
Nellie K. Glover, Resident Dance Choreographer
Kristina Lambdin, Resident Costume Designer
Grace Srinivasan, Resident Music Director

Resident Acting Company

Gregory Burgess
Tamieka Chavis
Anna DiGiovanni
Vince Eisenson
Terrance Fleming
Jose Guzman
Ron Heneghan
Lesley Malin
Elana Michelle
Séamus Miller
Molly Moores
Scott Alan Small
Michael P. Sullivan

Resident Technical and Design Company

Mindy Braden
Alexis E. Davis
Lauren Engler
Ruthie Griffith
Heather C. Jackson
Michael Lonegro
Katie McCreary
Jessica Rassp
Chester Stacy

Associate Company Members

Lizzi Albert
Greg Atkin
Mike Boynton
Ian Charles
Michael Crowley
Kathryne Daniels
Lauren Davis
Valerie Fenton
Ashly Fishell
Kate Forton
Dave Gamble
Jonas David Grey
Steven Hoochuk
Elliott Kashner
Brendan Edward Kennedy
Briana Manente
Frank B. Moorman
Christopher Niebling
JC Payne
Mary Pohlig
Laura Rocklyn
Erin Bone Steele
Nathan Thomas

Resident Teaching Artists

Kelly Durkin
Alexandra Hewett
Casey Kaleba
Emily Karol
Molly Moores
Laura Rocklyn
Caitlin Rogers
Gerrad Alex Taylor

Emeritus Company Members

Steve Beall
Blythe Coons
Jenny Crooks
Karen Eske
B. J. Gailey
Robby Rose
Christina Schlegel
Dave Tabish
Wayne Willinger
Shannon Listol Wilson

Veterans Ensemble

CSC Veterans Ensemble
Jennifer Austin
Christopher Bennett
Kim Cincotti-Seldon
Zach Fellers
David Hanauer
Matthew Imholte
Sharon Preator
Sarah Rodman
Richard Wirth

Creative Media Team

Brandon W Vernon
Varsity Graphics
Todd M. Zimmerman
Molly Moores, Program Advertising

Board of Trustees

Laura Boydston, President
Robin Hough, Vice President
Sean Rhoderick, Treasurer
Lesley Malin, Secretary

Kevin G. Burke
Kimberly Citizen
Joseph Ferlise, JD
Neal Flieger
Ian Gallanar
Scott Helm
Bill Henry
Renée S. Lane-Kunz, JD
Jack McCann
Linda Pieplow
Earle W. Pratt, III
Emily Rockefeller
Nan Rohrer